Texas History, Genealogy, Old Photos, Postcards, Maps, and Information.
Javascript is required to view this map.

Gregg County, Texas

Gregg County, in northeastern Texas, is bounded on the north by Upshur, on the south by Rusk, on the west by Smith, and on the east by Harrison counties.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Clarksville (Clarksville City) | Easton (partly in Rusk County) | Elderville (partly in Rusk County) | Gladewater (partly in Upshur County | Judson | Kilgore (partly in Rusk County) | Lakeport | Liberty City | Longview (partly in Harrison County) | Rolling Meadows | Shiloh | Warren City (partly in Upshur County) | White Oak


Gregg County has been home to three courthouses.  The first courthouse, built in part with native sandstone from nearby Methvin Hill, was designed by noted courthouse architect F. E. Ruffini and completed in 1879.  The second courthouse was built of red brick in 1897 on the site of the 1879 courthouse.  The current courthouse was built in 1932.

Gregg County Courthouse
Connie Wade - County Clerk
101 E. Methvin, Suite 200
Longview, TX 75601

Gregg County Government Website


Gregg County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.

Gregg County History 1800s-1900s from the Gregg County Government Website.


Gregg County 1887 General Land Office Map showing landowners from the Portal to Texas History.


Gregg County Real Estate Index 1977-2011 from the Gregg County Clerk's Office

Vital Records

Gregg County Birth Index from the Gregg County Clerk's Office

Gregg County Death Index from the Gregg County Clerk's Office

Gregg County Marriage Index from the Gregg County Clerk's Office


Longview, TX 32° 30' 2.5344" N, 94° 44' 25.7604" W